The story of a British infantry regiment from its formation to the present day
Updated 10 July. In line with government guidance, we're pleased to announce the Tower of London is now open Wednesday - Sunday. We hope to see you soon. Please read our visit information
Explore the museum's significant collection including 12 Victoria Cross Medals won by the Regiment, the uniform and bearskin of King George V (a former Colonel-in-Chief of the Regiment) and an Eagle Standard of the 82nd Regiment of the French Line captured by the Royal Fusiliers during the Napoleonic Wars.
The museum is housed in a building originally built as officers' quarters. The building still houses the Royal Regiment of Fusiliers' Regimental Headquarters and the Officers' Mess, which is used for formal dinners and ceremonial occasions.
The Royal Regiment of Fusiliers was formed on 20th June 1685, when King James II issued a Royal Warrant to raise an infantry force from the existing Tower of London Garrison. The first Commanding Officer was the Constable of the Tower. The Fusiliers' intended role was to guard the guns at the Tower of London. The force later fought in Belgium and Spain, and in the American War of Independence.
The majority of the Royal Fusiliers moved to Hounslow in 1881 after being based at the Tower for nearly 200 years. Only a small number stayed. The regiment returned in 1949 for 11 years. During this time, single soldiers were barracked in the Waterloo Block while married men and their families lived in houses within the Tower.
After this, the Tower became the home of a Royal Fusilier TA Regiment and continues to be the Regimental Headquarters.
Today, garrison duties are undertaken by the Yeoman Warders and a rota made of three London District regiments.The Fusilier Museum London
Discover books inspired by the palaces in our care, learn about fascinating periods of British history, including our official palace guide books, children's books and more.